OUR EVENTS ·   NEWS ·   01843 861738

Polish Day

Polish Day

We recently enjoyed a Polish celebration day when throughout the day we experienced many Polish activities.

The start the day off, Mr. Stone’s Year 3 class performed a wonderful class assembly telling us all about life in Poland.  After the assembly each class was lucky enough to receive visits from Polish speaking parents who talked about culture, traditions, food and the language of Poland.  We are very grateful to them for giving up their time to provide our children with such rich information and the opportunity to try out a few Polish phrases taught by native speakers!

Throughout the morning KS1 children had the opportunity to bake traditional Kolache cookies and, thanks again to the generosity of our Polish parents, all the children in school got to try out some traditional Polish foods.

Hubert and Oliwia from Year 4 came to school for the day dressed in their Polish Scout uniforms and visited each class telling the children about what they do in scouts and showing them traditional Polish items that they own.

Years 2 to 6 also got to experience Polish dancing thanks to our talented dancer Ms. Stern.

During free times in our busy timetable of the day, classes also did their own research about Poland, learning simple greetings, numbers, colours etc. and heard traditional Polish stories as well as producing Polish artwork and class displays.  A big thank you goes to the parents who also sent in information, photos, postcards and internet links to support children’s  class work.

The day was a huge success and as MFL Coordinator I would like to extend my warmest thanks to all the staff, parents and children who helped make it such a fun day of learning!

Mrs. Attkins.


St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
St Peter’s Park Road
CT10 2BA


Tel / Fax: 01843 861738
Email: office@st-josephs-broadstairs.kent.sch.uk


Kent Catholic Schools Partnership
Website: kcsp.org.uk
Telephone: 01622 232662

Executive Principal
Mr Chris Wright

Academy Principal
Mrs Kay Millership

Chair of Governors
Mrs Ann Yandell