On Friday 3rd March, an infant and junior St Joseph’s team travelled over to Ramsgate Leisure Centre to participate in the annual Skip2Bfit competition, the infant team was:

  • Lexie Davies
  • Alice Ingoldsby
  • Caitlin O’Brien
  • Sarah Bigginton
  • Caleb Pettit
  • Derek Matemba
  • Oscar Farquhar
  • Ruben Lanciaprima

The junior team was:

  • Lola Sutton
  • Heather Murphy
  • Millie Vas
  • Annie Murray
  • Lloyd Barker
  • Ewan Maclean
  • Chaz Butters
  • Harry Kinch

All children skipped for 2 minutes, from this the top 2 boys and top 2 girls from each team progressed into the Quartet Cup. Alice, Caitlin, Derek and Ruben represented the infant team whilst, Millie, Lola, Lloyd and Chaz represented the junior team. The scores from this round were added together and the top boy and top girl from this round ventured into the doubles cup. Alice and Ruben for the infants, Millie and Chaz for the juniors, these four children skipped again with their scores combined at the end. The top pupil from that round advanced into the singles cup, it was girl power in this final round as Alice skipped for the infants and Millie skipped for the juniors. After this, all children skipped again as a team to compete for the humongous team cup!

After the children’s round had been completed, it was time for the teachers and parents skip, Mr Jones was unable to win the teachers cup however, Mrs Vas retained her title with an outstanding 295 skips in 2 minutes!

Despite the best efforts of the infants we were unable to place in any of the rounds. In the juniors we placed a few times, we came second in the doubles cup with 739 skips between Chaz and Millie, only missing out by 41 skips. Millie came agonisingly close to winning the singles cup, she came second with 406 skips, only to be beaten by a mere 3 skips. In the team cup St Joseph’s juniors came second to St Peters.

Overall, it was a fantastic afternoon and all children should be very proud of their efforts! All children were awarded with a free Skip2Bfit skipping rope after the event.



St Joseph's Catholic Primary School
St Peter’s Park Road
CT10 2BA


Tel / Fax: 01843 861738


Kent Catholic Schools Partnership
Telephone: 01622 232662

Executive Principal
Mr Chris Wright

Academy Principal
Mrs Kay Millership

Chair of Governors
Mrs Ann Yandell